How I Nearly Didn’t Get Married

This post is part of a new series called “Shock the Status Quo.”

When MaryBeth and I recently moved into a new place, we were unpacking the kitchen and it hit us. There’s no microwave!

Our knee-jerk response was, “Well, we’re going to have to buy one.”

Because we’ve used a microwave for so long, we couldn’t, in that moment, conceive of not having one. I mean how would we heat water or syrup or tortillas or anything?

A month has passed and we never bought a microwave.

‘I’ll always have a car payment’

It’s funny how we get caught up in one way of doing things and we can’t see alternatives.

Before my wife and I were married, I was terrible with money. I lived check to check and didn’t save anything. And I said things like, “I’ll always have a car payment.”

And that was logical to me then because I was living with a $425 monthly payment on a BMW I had no business buying, and I couldn’t see a way out. I couldn’t see an alternative.

Get mad!

But then one day I got mad. I got mad because I knew I was making good money but had nothing to show for it. And I was tired of the stress.

There I was standing in MaryBeth’s kitchen one day all fired up and upset, and she loved every second of it.

Why?

Hope.

You see before I finally got mad enough to change my situation and act on it, she knew she could never marry me.

MaryBeth was one of “those people.” She was a “Dave Ramsey” follower. Gasp!

And she wasn’t just a follower, she worked for him at the time, had paid off close to $60,000 in debt, and she wasn’t about to get herself married to someone like me….then.

I went on to pay off 18 months of car payments in 5 months time, and I never looked back.

And if I hadn’t shocked the status quo, my life would be drastically different, and this picture would not exist.

Wedding picture

Or this one.

MB and Josiah

Or this one.

Christmas 2012

Shock your financial status quo. Change your life.

Question: How has changing the way you handle money improved your life? Share below!

19 thoughts on “How I Nearly Didn’t Get Married

  1. It’s hard to think of the impact that finances have made. Now that I think back on it, I’m sure we’ve been able to treat parenting differently because we didn’t have a lot of debt. It’s nice that my wife can stay at home.
    And also, we can be more generous – and I probably won’t realize the impact that had until I move on to glory.

  2. Ironically, we just led week four of FPU, where Dave delivers the mopey, “I’ll always have a car payment” line. I was also reminded of a friend of mine who had a $500/month BMW payment making $25k a year. I almost killed him.

    I am thankful that I was irresponsible with money when I was 20. I got my cable turned off and got kicked out of school, so I went to work at the only place I could get a job, the golf course an hour away. That meant 3-4 hours a week of Dave. It changed my life.

Leave a Reply

