Why I Wrote A Personal Mission Statement And You Should, Too

All successful organizations have a mission statement.  It gives teams direction and purpose.  When life happens and the business gets thrown off course, a mission statement helps teams get back on track.  It also helps them decide what “opportunities” not to tackle and any existing business areas that don’t fit.

Growing up, my mom told me to run my life like a business.  As a child, I didn’t fully understand what she meant by that beyond being serious about life.  Now as a bigger child, I better understand.  In short, live with intention. Set goals and go for them.

Okay, got it, mom!  I’m tracking!

Until a couple of years ago or so though, I was missing a key ingredient to leading myself well. The personal mission statement.

Now in the spirit of full disclosure, I had listened to people speak about having personal mission statements, and I thought it was a little corny back then.

Then I got smarter because I began surrounding myself with really successful people. And I started reading blogs and books they recommended and discovered a personal mission statement and a clear sense of purpose were fueling these people to success. Well, I want to be successful, and if successful people do this, I should too!  This isn’t hard folks.

It was corny no more.  I had to have one.  After a lot of thinking, prayer and listening to God, mine became clear.

To advance others through personal-growth education

If you know me well enough, perhaps some things about me just became clear.

Ever wonder why my wife and I lead a personal finances course?

Ever wonder why I choose to write about the stuff I do on this blog?

Ever wonder why I blab on and on about pretty much anything related to personal growth?

It’s because it’s my purpose, my higher calling.  And I’m a bit fanatical about my mission, and I want it to succeed!  So, why not give it structure and direction through a mission statement?  Successful businesses do!  It’s key.

If you believe your calling is to raise the best children on the face of the planet, write it down!  Then, align your goals to support it.

If you believe your purpose is to start a nonprofit that benefits starving people somewhere, write it down, and build your life around it.

For me, the stakes are too high to not have written mine down.  Since my purpose is about helping people, something God has told me to do, the stakes are too high to just idly go about it.

While I love it, it’s too hard, and life has and will continue to present obstacles that will pull me off purpose.  My personal mission statement, however, will always be there to remind me of what God has asked me to do in the kingdom.

So I challenge you to develop your own personal mission statement.  If you don’t know where to start, I’ll write about it soon.

Question: How do you think a personal mission statement could benefit your life?

11 thoughts on “Why I Wrote A Personal Mission Statement And You Should, Too

  1. Pingback: The #1 Way To Help More People « Joel Fortner's blog

  2. Pingback: Don’t Do What I Did And Jeopardize Your Dream « Joel Fortner's blog

  3. Pingback: The 7 Parts of Writing a Personal Mission Statement « Joel Fortner's blog

  4. Joel, I like that your mission statement is short and sweet, i’ve been working on mine for a while (i do keep revising it), but i’m not able to keep it that short sweet, so i have ended up breaking it into bits. What are your thoughts on that?

  5. Great post, Joel. I too have neglected my personal mission statement, and you have challenged me to dust it off, give it a long hard look, and maybe breathe some new life into it. I need to reassess and clarify my “why,” and the mission statement is where I will start. Thanks for the conviction, friend!

  6. Great stuff, Joel. This post reminded me to dig up my mission statement and give it a review:

    “I will use and increase the knowledge and skills I’ve been given to develop needed applications to provide for my family, advance the kingdom of God and serve the global community.”

    I don’t think it has changed much now that I’m working for myself. Definitely worth reviewing regularly which is something I haven’t done at all.

    I’ve been impressed with mission statements since watching the business decisions at Lampo (Dave Ramsey’s company) shaped and formed by their mission statement. The most valuable contribution it brings is telling you what NOT to do so you can focus on what needs to be done.

    Thanks again!

    • I’m also guilty of having one and neglecting it. It’s like goal setting. You can write them down but you have to hang the list where you’ll see it regularly. Or potentially suffer the drift! Glad this post was helpful!

Leave a Reply

