Take Courage

This post was written by my friend, Gina Parris, an international speaker, performance coach, wife, mother of four, and a champion for the Sexy Marriage.  Yes, you read that right!  And I know you’re intrigued.  The post originally appeared on her blog.

Gina Parris

“Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” – Steve Jobs

How often do we set out to follow our heart, only to get cold feet?

We dream a dream, set a goal, make a plan. And then we stop.

We let ourselves shrink back because of the opinions of others. Worse yet, we somehow hold back because of what we think will be the opinions of others.

We tell ourselves, “They’ll laugh at me. They wouldn’t like me if they knew the real me. They won’t like my idea. Who am I to dream such a dream? Who am I to be a leader?”

Well, who are you not to?

The truth is, you and I will never be everything to everybody. Or in the words of Brandi Snyder, “To the world you may be just one person, but to one person you may be the world.”

That person matters enough for you to be the real you, the you that trusts your heart and intuition, as Steve Jobs told us to do.

As we mourn the death of a visionary genius, we are stirred to follow our heart.

Take courage today.

Follow your heart.

Take courage today.

Follow your intuition.

Take time to get quiet and ask yourself this question:

If I knew I was going to die in 24 hours, what would be my 3 biggest regrets?

Then, starting right now – remove the regret. Get working on the most immediate goals. Take courage and do it.

Follow your heart and intuition today – not tomorrow. As you do you are becoming the person you were meant to be.

Everything else, is secondary.

Question: Do you have an example of someone using courage to achieve something?

2 thoughts on “Take Courage

  1. Aaah, thanks for the shoutout, Joel. I’m honored to share a space on your blog! I’m in Chicago right now sharing the stage with a bunch of world changers and I’m thinking of throwing out my safely prepared message and sharing straight from the heart. I think I’ll need to take courage, for sure.

Leave a Reply

